Coach Moreeng focuses on Bangladesh ahead of Cup qualifiers

You are currently viewing Coach Moreeng focuses on Bangladesh ahead of Cup qualifiers
  • Post published:January 9, 2017

Proteas Women coach Hilton Moreeng has targeted the five-match ODI tour of Bangladesh as vital preparation for the World Cup qualifiers in February.

A squad of 14 has been named for the tour, which kicks off on 12 January in Cox’s Bazar, the Bangladesh fishing town.

Team coach Hilton Moreeng is looking forward to testing his team’s capabilities after a month of no international cricket.

‘This is an important tour, because it’s the only bit of preparation against an international side that we will have before we get to the World Cup Qualifiers [in Sri Lanka],’ said Moreeng. ‘The squad is fresh and ready to take on the new year. The preparation is going well and we are looking forward to improving on our shortfalls when we take on Bangladesh on their home soil.

‘We are not going to underestimate our hosts as we know they can be a tricky team to beat in their own back yard.’

The squad welcomes back veteran seam bowler Marcia Matshipi Letsoalo (pictured above), who is excited to have worked her way back into the squad after missing the Women’s Championship matches against New Zealand and Australia. She last played in the tour against Ireland and for SA Emerging Women in October.

‘I’ve been working really hard on my game to make sure that I get another opportunity to play for the national team and I’m glad to have made it happen,’ she said.

Shabnim Ismail and Trisha Chetty, who were suspended for ‘conduct unbecoming’, are still missing from the squad. The pair missed the Women’s Championship matches, during which they agreed to undertake counselling, but are available for selection for the World Cup qualifiers as their ban expires on 31 January.

The squad: Dane van Niekerk (captain, Eastern Province), Sune Luus (Northerns), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Moseline Daniels (Boland), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Marcia Matshipi Letsoalo (Northerns), Odine Kirsten (Northerns), Lizelle Lee (North West), Andrie Steyn (Western Province), Yolani Fourie (Gauteng), Ayabonga Khaka (Border), Chloe Tryon (KwaZulu-Natal), Sinalo Jafta (North West), Lara Goodall (Western Province).

The ODIs will be played on Jan 12, 14, 16, 18, 20.

Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix