Pienaar selects his picks for GOTM award

You are currently viewing Pienaar selects his picks for GOTM award
  • Post published:May 20, 2023

Bafana Bafana legend Steven Pienaar has selected his picks for the DStv Premiership Goal of the Month award.

The monthly award for the league’s best goals required revitalisation, with the winner now determined by the subjective opinion of South African football legends who have played and excelled in both domestic and international leagues for decades.

Previously selected by football fans, the DStv Premiership Goal of the Month recognises the best goal scored each month. Legends were given access to each month’s goals in order to select the Goal of the Month. McCarthy and Pienaar have selected the August through March Goal of the Month winners.

Phillip Ndlondlo’s shot into the top corner from the edge of the 18-yard box against Royal AM in August was selected as the best goal to open the new season while he was still under contract with Marumo Gallants. Kaizer Chiefs’ Yusuf Maart’s incredible match-winning strike from inside his own half in the Soweto Derby is likely to go down as one of the best goals ever scored in the Soweto Derby. Maart’s goal took the honours for September/October.

Themba Zwane of Mamelodi Sundowns scored the best goal for December/January by driving the ball brilliantly forward from deep within his own half, then exchanging a one-two touch with Cassius Mailula and finishing the move he initiated.

In February/March, the legends unanimously selected Lantshene Phalane’s left-footed shot for Royal AM that beat Sundowns’ custodian Ronwen Williams as the best of the month.

All of the monthly winners will compete for Goal of the Season at the PSL Awards later this month. DStv, the league’s sponsor, will award each winner of the Goal of the Month award with a trophy and R7 000.

Winners for the 2022/23 DStv Premiership Goal of the Month Awards.

August – Royal AM v Marumo Gallants – Phillip Ndlondlo (Marumo Gallants)

September/October – Orlando Pirates v Kaizer Chiefs – Yusuf Maart (Kaizer Chiefs)

December/January – Mamelodi Sundowns v Swallows FC – Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

February/March – Mamelodi Sundowns v Royal AM – Lantshene Phalane (Royal AM)