Pirates confirm exit of four stars

You are currently viewing Pirates confirm exit of four stars
Orlando Pirates goalkeeper Jackson Mabokgwane
  • Post published:June 19, 2019

Orlando Pirates have confirmed that Abbubaker Mobara, Jackson Mabokgwane, Thabo Qalinge and Ayanda Nkosi have all been released by the club ahead of the 2019-20 season.

The Buccaneers are set to return for pre-season training next week and the squad will be a bit lighter after the club confirmed the exit of the quartet on Wednesday afternoon.

Cape Town City announced earlier in the day that they had signed Mobara on a free transfer with the Soweto giants later confirming his exit along with three teammates in a statement on their website.

‘In terms of the First Team, orlandopiratesfc.com can confirm the release of Abbubaker Mobara, Jackson Mabokgwane, Ayanda Nkosi and Thabo Qalinge,’ Pirates confirmed on the club’s official website.

Pirates also confirmed that they had released a number of players from their reserve and youth set-ups.

‘For the Reserve Teams and lower divisions, the following players have also been released: Reanetse Ramatlapeng, Katleho Molaba, Samuel Nkomo, Phumulani Masinga, Phila Mzila, Reanetse Ramatlapeng, Ricardo Lourenco, Riyaaz Nell, Tebogo Ngwenya, Rodi Sibanda, Lucky Mdingi and Zaahir Witbooi. The Club would like to thank all the players for their service and wish them all of the best in their future endeavours,’ the statement concluded.