CT Spurs Crowned 2024 Bayhill Premier Cup Champions

You are currently viewing CT Spurs Crowned 2024 Bayhill Premier Cup Champions
  • Post published:April 1, 2024

Cape Town Spurs have been crowned 2024 Bayhill Premier Cup champions following their 4-1 victory over FN Rangers St Agnes at Athlone Stadium on Monday.

The Urban Warrior got off to a great start and got the breakthrough when Asekho Gqabaza was fouled in the area in the 22nd minute. Spurs captain Denzel Du Plessis to slot the ball home and make it 1-0.

FN Rangers were then rewarded with a penalty of their own on the half-hour mark, but Tashreeq Dollie had his spot-kick saved by Spurs keeper Ethan Engel.

The game went into the half time break with the scoreline at 1-0 in favour of Spurs.

Spurs came out blazing in the second half and doubled their lead two minutes into the second half when Jenairho Brock headed the ball home after Faiz Abrahams’ free kick was saved by Rangers keeper.

The Urban Warriors added a third goal in the 55th minute after Jeandre Gaffoor unleashed an effort from outside the box to find the bottom corner and make it 3-0.

Rangers eventually managed to pull a goal back in the 61st minute when Sergio Fransch found the back off the net for a consolation goal.

Abrahams put the game beyond Rangers in the 77th minute when he grabbed Spurs’ fourth goal as they held on until the final whistle as Spurs clinched their second title in three years.

Assistant Referee of the tournament: Mnikelo Sitsheke

Referee of the tournament: Sakhele Kalazani

Top goal scorer: Shakier Solomons (5 goals)

Manager of the tournament: Sphelele Madlala, Shayamoya United

Coach of the tournament: Warwick Hector, FN Rangers St Agnes

Most promising amateur team: Rygersdal FC

Team of the tournament: FN Rangers St Agnes

Player of the Tournament: Buhle Majavu, Mamelodi Sundowns FC

Bruyns Plate final award runners-up: Shayamoya United

Bruyns Plate final award winners: Bayhill United

Pat Connolly Mid-Section Final, runners-up: FC Porto

Pat Connolly Mid-Section Final, winners: Young Bafana Academy

Roger Clayton Trophy, runners up: FN Rangers St Agnes

Roger Clayton Trophy 2024 winners: Cape Town Spurs FC

Caption 3: Winners with Councillor Patricia van der Ross holding the cup

Photo by City of Cape Town Twitter