Brevis makes the cut for Proteas 18 man squad

You are currently viewing Brevis makes the cut for Proteas 18 man squad
  • Post published:August 15, 2023

Dewald Brevis has been named in the Proteas 18 player squad for their upcoming T20I and ODI home series against Australia in August and September.

But not every player will go to India in October and November for the tournament.

On September 5, two days before the first one-day international, a 15-person World Cup team will be chosen.

Before the one-day series, some of the team will try to do well in three Twenty20 internationals.

One of them is Dewald Brevis, who is 20 years old and will play his first international game during the T20 series.

He will also be in the one-day squad. He is a hard-hitting batsman and a leg-spin bowler.

Brevis has only played in four first-class games, but T20 teams in India, South Africa, the West Indies, and the United States have already signed him up. In a domestic T20 match between the Titans and the Knights last October, he scored 162 runs off of 57 balls.

Matthew Breetzke, who is 24, and Donovan Ferreira, who is 25, were also new to the T20 team, but they were not chosen for the one-day games.

Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Anrich Nortje, and Kagiso Rabada, who are all top players, will not play in the T20 games, but they will in the one-day games.

Keshav Maharaj, a left-arm spinner, tore his left Achilles tendon in March during a Test match against the West Indies. He is expected to play cricket again during the T20 series.

The Proteas 18 player squads:

T20 internationals: Aiden Markram (captain), Temba Bavuma, Matthew Breetzke, Dewald Brevis, Gerald Coetzee, Donovan Ferreira, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams, Rassie van der Dussen

One-day internationals: Bavuma (captain), Brevis, Coetzee, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Fortuin, Hendricks, Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Maharaj, Markram, David Miller, Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Shamsi, Stubbs, Van der Dussen

Photo by Sportzpics/SA20/BackpagePix