Bavuma absent from Proteas squad for India white-ball series

You are currently viewing Bavuma absent from Proteas squad for India white-ball series
  • Post published:December 4, 2023

Cricket South Africa has announced that Temba Bavuma will miss the Proteas two white-ball series against India.

Bavuma and Kagiso Rabada, both fast bowlers, have been named ineligible to participate in the limited overs series as they are required to prepare for two World Test Championship matches that commence in Centurion on December 26.

Prior to the Test series, fast bowlers Gerald Coetzee, Lungi Ngidi, and Marco Jansen will return to their respective franchises to compete in domestic four-day cricket. They will each only appear in the initial two Twenty20 internationals.

The decision, according to one-day coach Rob Walter, was reached in deliberation with test coach Shukri Conrad.

“We have a busy summer ahead starting with the T20Is and then ODIs against India and we have therefore taken the decision to omit several of our senior players,” said Walter.

“This decision was taken together with coach Shukri as we place emphasis on the red-ball leg of the tour, meaning they will instead be preparing for the Test series by playing domestic cricket.”

Conrad said: “It is the start of a new ICC World Test Championship cycle and that itself is a huge incentive for everyone. We want to try and ensure we make a strong start to this sequence here at home against one of the best teams in the world.”

Durham and Western Province batsman David Bedingham, left-arm fast bowler Nandre Burger, and batsman Tristan Stubbs are the three uncapped members of the Test squad.

Burger is positioned to make his debut internationally after receiving an invitation to all three squads. All-arounder Mihlali Mpongwana, an additional rookie, was chosen for the one-day series.

Sunday will see the inaugural Twenty20 international take place in Durban. Three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 internationals will be played.

Prior to the Test matches, India rested former captain Virat Kohli and regular captain Rohit Sharma, both of whom will be absent for the white-ball matches.

South African squads:

T20 internationals: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen (wkt), David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams

One-day internationals: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen (wkt), Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (wkt), Lizaad Williams

Tests: Temba Bavuma (captain), David Bedingham, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs, Kyle Verreynne (wkt)

Photo by Prakash Singh/Shutterstock