Chiefs lose to Zimamoto but progress in Caf Confed Cup

You are currently viewing Chiefs lose to Zimamoto but progress in Caf Confed Cup
Kaizer Chiefs vs Zimamoto
  • Post published:December 4, 2018

A much-changed Kaizer Chiefs side went down 2-1 to Zimamoto in the second leg of their Caf Confederation Cup preliminary round tie, but progressed to the next round with a 5-2 victory on aggregate.

Chiefs thrashed the Tanzanian side 4-0 in the first leg in Port Elizabeth only a week ago, and left out both hat-trick hero from the first leg Khama Biliat and captain Itumeleng Khune.

The game, which was played in the afternoon heat at the Amaan Stadium, was clearly going to be a different encounter to last week’s.

Things weren’t going to plan for the Amakhosi, who failed to break down the home side and then went a goal down in the 43rd minute. After a weekend where Chiefs conceded two penalties, their discipline again let them down as Yussuf Ramadhan Mtuba was provided with the opportunity to open the scoring from the penalty spot, which he duly converted.

1-0 to the home side, but Giovanni Solinas’ team remained in firm control of the tie, because they lead 4-1 on aggregate, thanks to their big first-leg victory.

It did not take the visitors long to level the scores in the second half as Lebogang Manyama latched on to a well-weighted pass from Bernard Parker with just five minutes gone in the second stanza.

Chiefs then thought they had hit the front when Ryan Moon tapped in following a pass from Parker, but the goal was chalked off because of an infringement inside the box just two minutes after the equaliser.

Zimamoto were then awarded another, with 20 minutes left to play after a foul inside the box. Mtuba once again stepped up and made no mistake with his finish to fire his side back into the lead.

The Tanzanian outfit then shut up shop as Chiefs failed to break down their opponents in the remainder of the game.

Solinas’ men lost 2-1 on the day, but advance to the next round 5-2 on aggregate, where they will face either Madagascar’s Elgeco Plus United or Unidad Malabo of Equatorial Guinea.