South African Team of Week (Round 14)

You are currently viewing South African Team of Week (Round 14)
Kwagga Smith scores his second try against the Kings
  • Post published:May 29, 2017

JON CARDINELLI picks a form South African XV based on performances in round 14 of Super Rugby.

The Sharks thumped the Stormers 22-10 in Durban on Saturday. A day later, the Lions hammered the Kings 54-10 in Johannesburg, despite playing 50 minutes of the game with 14 men.

These two teams supply all but one of the South African players in this week’s Form XV. Nine Lions and five Sharks have been included.

Andries Coetzee edges the Stormers’ SP Marais and Cheetahs’ Clayton Blommetjies for the No 15 jersey. Lukhanyo Am had a strong game for the Sharks before he left the field with a cheekbone injury. Lionel Mapoe, however, was on fire for the Lions in Port Elizabeth.

The Du Preez twins featured prominently at the collisions and breakdowns for the Sharks. Ruan Botha made a statement while competing against Springbok locks Eben Etzebeth and Pieter-Steph du Toit.

Uzair Cassiem was a standout for the Cheetahs in Tokyo. Yet one cannot look further than Kwagga Smith for the No 6 position this week. The Blitzboks star scored two tries for the Lions.

Perhaps the easiest selection is at No 2. Malcolm Marx came off the bench late in the first half to replace Robbie Coetzee. The Bok hooker made some influential contributions as a ball-carrier and breakdown forager.

Finally, Burger Odendaal wins selection on the back of his strong attacking performance against the Hurricanes. The Bulls No 12 made two linebreaks and a total of 97m with ball in hand.

15. Andries Coetzee (Lions)
14. Sbu Nkosi (Sharks)
13. Lionel Mapoe (Lions)
12. Burger Odendaal (Bulls)
11. Courtnall Skosan (Lions)
10. Elton Jantjies (Lions)
9. Faf de Klerk (Lions)
8. Daniel du Preez (Sharks)
7. Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks)
6. Kwagga Smith (Lions)
5. Franco Mostert (Lions)
4. Ruan Botha (Sharks)
3. Coenie Oosthuizen (Sharks)
2. Malcolm Marx (Lions)
1. Jacques van Rooyen (Lions)

REVIEW: Lions officially SA’s best

15. Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks)
14. Ruan Combrinck (Lions)
13. Lukhanyo Am (Sharks)
12. Harold Vorster (Lions)
11. Sbu Nkosi (Sharks)
10. Elton Jantjies (Lions)
9. Cobus Reinach (Sharks)
8. Andisa Ntsila (Kings)
7. Siya Kolisi (Stormers)
6. Kwagga Smith (Lions)
5. Franco Mostert (Lions)
4. Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers)
3. Ruan Dreyer (Lions)
2. Malcolm Marx (Lions)
1. Thomas du Toit (Sharks)

Photo: Anne Laing/HM Images