South Africa win toss, bat first

You are currently viewing South Africa win toss, bat first
Captains Steve Smith and Faf du Plessis
  • Post published:March 22, 2018

South Africa won the toss and will bat first in the third Test at Newlands.

As expected, Temba Bavuma and Morne Morkel come in for Theunis de Bruyn and Lungi Ngidi as the Proteas make two changes.

Morkel, who will retire from international cricket after this series, needs just three wickets to reach the 300 mark. He comes back into the side after being dropped for Ngidi in the second Test at St George’s Park.

Bavuma, who scored a memorable century against England at Newlands two years ago, will play his first game in the series having just recovered from a hand injury.

The Proteas also have Kagiso Rabada, the hero in the last Test match, available after he successfully overturned a two-match suspension on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, Australia are unchanged for the third straight Test in the series.


South Africa: 1 Dean Elgar, 2 Aiden Markram, 3 Hashim Amla, 4 AB de Villiers, 5 Faf du Plessis (c), 6 Temba Bavuma, 7 Quinton de Kock (wk), 8 Vernon Philander, 9 Keshav Maharaj, 10 Kagiso Rabada, 11 Morne Morkel

Australia: 1 Cameron Bancroft, 2 David Warner, 3 Usman Khawaja, 4 Steve Smith (c), 5 Shaun Marsh, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Tim Paine (wk), 8 Mitchell Starc, 9 Pat Cummins, 10 Josh Hazlewood, 11 Nathan Lyon.

Photo: Gerhard Duraan/Gallo Images