Hamza debuts, Proteas bat first

You are currently viewing Hamza debuts, Proteas bat first
Zubayr Hamza
  • Post published:January 11, 2019

Zubayr Hamza became the 100th capped post-isolation Protea as South Africa won the toss and decided to bat first in the third Test against Pakistan.

With the Proteas having already secured the three-Test series with wins at Centurion and Newlands, attention turns to the Wanderers.

Hamza has been given an opportunity after Proteas captain Faf du Plessis was controversially suspended for a slow over rate in a match that finished in under four days.

ALSO READ: Faf’s ban a blessing in disguise

Dean Elgar will captain the side for the second time in Du Plessis’ absence as he aims to secure a 3-0 whitewash to nudge the Proteas back to second on the ICC Test rankings.

Pakistan have made three changes, with Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan and Hasan Ali coming in for Fakhar Zaman, Yasin Shah and Shaheen Afridi respectively.

The Wanderers pitch will be under close scrutiny having been docked demerit points after being deemed dangerous during the Test between the Proteas and India last year.

ALSO READ: Third Test preview


1. Dean Elgar
2. Aiden Markram
3. Hashim Amla
4. Theunis de Bruyn
5. Temba Bavuma
6. Zubayr Hamza
7. Quinton de Kock
8. Vernon Philander
9. Kagiso Rabada
10. Dale Steyn
11. Duanne Olivier


1. Imam-ul-Haq
2. Shan Masood
3. Azhar Ali
4. Asad Shafiq
5. Babar Azam
6. Sarfraz Ahmed
7. Shadab Khan
8. Faheem Ashraf
9. Mohammad Amir
10. Mohammad Abbas
11. Hasan Ali

Photo: Shaun Roy/Gallo Images