Hamza set to return for South Africa A tour to Sri Lanka

You are currently viewing Hamza set to return for South Africa A tour to Sri Lanka
  • Post published:April 25, 2023

Test batsman Zubayr Hamza is to return to international cricket in June following a doping suspension after being chosen for the South Africa A squad to tour Sri Lanka.

Hamza, who have played six tests for South Africa and a single One Day International, was handed a nine-month suspension last year after testing positive for a banned substance.

The suspension ended in December after which Hamza has played in four first class matches in South African domestic competition.

The squad includes eight test players and will take on Sri Lanka A in three ODIs in Kandy and two four-day matches in Dambulla.

Tony de Zorzi will lead the side under the guidance of Test head coach Shukri Conrad. The squad is strengthened by several internationally capped players, among them being Keegan Petersen, Kyle Verreynne, Gerald Coetzee and Tristan Stubbs.

The squad includes emerging domestic players such as Titans batter Dewald Brevis and Warriors batting duo Jordan Hermann and Matthew Breetzke.

Commenting on the selection of the squad, Conrad said: “The squad reflects the next crop of players that are emerging from our pipeline. We also rewarded those who have performed for their respective domestic teams this past summer.

“The tour will provide the opportunity for those players, together with the younger Proteas, to put their skills to the test in highly competitive, international conditions.

“It will also serve to strengthen the batting depth in the red-ball department, as we build towards the Test series against India later this year.”

Director of Cricket Enoch Nkwe added: “On behalf of Cricket South Africa, I would like to thank Sri Lanka Cricket for hosting Shukri and his team for what we consider to be much needed game time during our winter months. The tour is also seen as a stepping stone in our overall strategy to increase the depth of players within our pipeline.”

The squad will depart for Sri Lanka on 31 May.

South Africa A Squad against Sri Lanka A

Tony de Zorzi (captain, Six Gun Grill Western Province), Corbin Bosch (Momentum Multiply Titans), Matthew Breetzke (Dafabet Warriors), Dewald Brevis (Momentum Multiply Titans), Gerald Coetzee (ITEC Knights), Zubayr Hamza (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Jordan Hermann (Dafabet Warriors), Tshepo Moreki (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Senuran Muthusamy (North West Dragons), Keegan Petersen (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Sinethemba Qeshile (Dafabet Warriors), Lutho Sipamla (DP World Lions), Tristan Stubbs (Dafabet Warriors), Kyle Verreynne (Six Gun Grill Western Province) and Lizaad Williams (Momentum Multiply Titans).

Photo by Shaun Roy/BackpagePix