Australia to face Proteas in eight-match white-ball tour

You are currently viewing Australia to face Proteas in eight-match white-ball tour
  • Post published:May 5, 2023

Australia travel to South Africa for an eight-match white-ball tour later this year that will include three Twenty20 matches and five One-Day Internationals in a pre-World Cup tune-up.

The T20 fixtures will all be played at Kingsmead in the coastal city of Durban between Aug.30 and Sept. 3, before the five-match ODI series moves to the Highveld from Sept. 7-17, with the first two games in Bloemfontein, followed by matches in Potchefstroom, Pretoria and Johannesburg.

It is a first white-ball tour to the country by Australia since 2020 and follows South Africa’s withdrawal from their series Down Under in January this year as they prioritised the launch of their domestic T20 league.

South Africa have yet to seal their place at the World Cup in India that starts in October but will do so if Ireland don’t complete a clean-sweep of their three-match home series against Bangladesh that starts next week.

If the Irish do book their place, South Africa will suffer the embarrassment of having to go through the final round of qualifiers that will be played in Zimbabwe from next month.

Australia tour to South Africa fixtures:
Aug. 30: First T20 – Durban
Sept. 1: Second T20 – Durban
Sept. 3: Third T20 – Durban
Sept. 7: First ODI – Bloemfontein
Sept. 9: Second ODI – Bloemfontein
Sept. 12: Third ODI – Potchefstroom
Sept. 15: Fourth ODI – Pretoria
Sept. 17: Fifth ODI – Johannesburg