Maharaj, Khaka win big at CSA Awards

You are currently viewing Maharaj, Khaka win big at CSA Awards
Keshav Maharaj of South Africa
  • Post published:August 15, 2022

Keshav Maharaj and Ayabonga Khaka were named the 2021-22 SA Men’s and SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year respectively at CSA’s virtual awards ceremony on Sunday.

Maharaj and Khaka also claimed the SA Men and SA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year awards respectively.

In the other men’s awards, Kagiso Rabada was named the Test Player of the Year, Aiden Markram the T20 International Player of the Year and Janneman Malan the ODI Player of the Year.

Marco Jansen was named the International Newcomer of the Year and Mitchell van Buuren the Domestic Newcomer of the Season.

Notable winners from the women’s categories were Lizelle Lee (Women’s T20 International Player of the Year) and Laura Wolvaardt (Women’s ODI Player of the Year).

For The Best Delivery and voted for by the fans, Simon Harmer took the award for the dismissal of Najmul Hossain Shanto in the first Test against Bangladesh in Durban.

The SA Fans’ Player of the Year award went to David Miller.

Nonkululeko Mlaba was honoured with the Makhaya Ntini Power of Cricket Award, which celebrates the perseverance, passion and overwhelming pride of people who have used their talent to change their circumstances.

On the domestic front, Sisanda Magala was the biggest winner of the night, taking home three awards.

Magala won the Division 1 One-Day Cup Player of the Season, Domestic Players’ Player of the Season, and Saca Most Valuable Player Award.

In the Amateur Awards, Tazmin Brits took home the CSA Women’s Provincial Player of the Year, Dewald Brevis was named the CSA U19 Player of the Year, while Boland’s Nathan Engelbrecht won the CSA Rural Cricket Player of the Year and T20 Community Cup Player of the Tournament awards.

Photo: Karl Bridgeman – ECB/ECB via Getty Images