Bavuma blow for Proteas, Rossouw returns

You are currently viewing Bavuma blow for Proteas, Rossouw returns
Temba Bavuma receives medical attention
  • Post published:June 29, 2022

Proteas white-ball captain Temba Bavuma has been ruled out of the entire tour to England and Ireland.

Bavuma suffered an elbow injury during the recent T20I series in India and will be sidelined for eight weeks.

The tour from 19 July to 12 September will consist of three ODIs, three T20Is and three Tests against England, as well as two T20Is against Ireland, to be played in Bristol.

Keshav Maharaj and David Miller will captain the ODI and T20I teams, respectively.

Meanwhile, 21-one-year-old Gerald Coetzee has received his maiden Proteas call-up for the T20I series, with 32-year-old Rilee Rossouw returning to the T20I squad having last played international cricket in 2016.

Proteas ODI squad vs England: Keshav Maharaj (c, Dolphins), Quinton de Kock (Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Lions), Marco Jansen (Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Titans), Janneman Malan (Rocks), Aiden Markram (Titans), David Miller (Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Titans), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (Dragons), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Rassie van der Dussen (Lions), Lizaad Williams (Titans), Khaya Zondo (Dolphins), Kyle Verreynne (WP).

Proteas T20I squad vs England: David Miller (c, Dolphins), Gerald Coetzee (Knights), Quinton de Kock (Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Titans), Lungi Ngidi (Titans), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Wayne Parnell (WP), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (Dragons), Kagiso Rabada (Lions), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Tristan Stubbs (Warriors), Rassie van der Dussen (Lions).

Proteas Test squad vs England: Dean Elgar (c, Titans), Sarel Erwee (Dolphins), Marco Jansen (Warrios), Simon Harmer (Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Titans), Lungi Ngidi (Titans), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Duanne Olivier (Lions), Keegan Petersen (Dolphins), Kagiso Rabada (Lions), Ryan Rickelton (Lions), Lutho Sipamla (Lions), Rassie van der Dussen (Lions), Kyle Verreynne (WP), Khaya Zondo (Dolphins), Glenton Stuurman (Warriors).

OPINION: Proteas won’t be pushovers in England

England vs Proteas fixtures:

19 July: 1st ODI, Riverside
22 July: 2nd ODI, Old Trafford
24 July: 3rd ODI, Headingley
27 July: 1st T20I, Bristol
28 July: 2nd T20I, Sophia Gardens
31 July: 3rd T20I, The Rose Bowl
17-21 August: 1st Test, Lord’s
25-29 August: 2nd Test, Edgbaston
8-12 September: 3rd Test, The Oval

Ireland vs Proteas fixtures:

3 August: 1st T20I, Bristol
5 August: 2nd T20I, Bristol

Photo: Pankaj Nangia/Gallo Images/Getty Images