Sharks seeking positive result against WP

You are currently viewing Sharks seeking positive result against WP
  • Post published:June 10, 2023

The Cell C Sharks will be seeking another character-driven performance in the Currie Cup on Saturday when they meet DHL Western Province in the final round of the pool stages.

With a home semi-final secured and looking to maintain their position on the top of the log which would translate into a home final should they get there, a win in Cape Town is not negotiable as the Cell C Sharks chase an eighth straight victory in their march towards glory under coach Joey Mongalo.

This team has had an injection of URC players as the tournament reaches the business end, Phepsi Buthelezi leading a team that shows 14 changes from last week’s starting XV with an eye on having a rejuvenated squad available for the knock-outs.

Assistant coach JP Pietersen explains: “It’s been a very long Currie Cup and the majority of the boys have played throughout. We had a chat as coaches about freshening them up, getting them hungry for a home semi, that’s one thing we’re 100% sure of. We want to put all our energy into the home semi.

“In saying that, we still need to do the job in Cape Town so we can get a home final.”

Pietersen points out that continuity has been important throughout the campaign, but given the demands on the bodies, player welfare and management is key at this stage.

“The group has really put their hands up and the cohesion is really good. You must give the boys credit for this, they’ve won games and it’s been easy to stick with them.”

Key to the unbeaten streak is not only in the performances, but in the players’ positive and ambitious mental state.

“You can see in the results that this is a group that’s been together and played together for a long time, the cohesion is there. But as coaches, you can coach as much as you can, but the want from the players is there.

“That’s very satisfying for the coaches, we give them the platform to express their talent and they have shown the desire to not simply be competitive in the Currie Cup, they want to win it.”

Cell C Sharks
1. Khwezi Mona
2. Kerron van Vuuren
3. Carlu Sadie
4. Hyron Andrews
5. Gerbrandt Grobler
6. Thembelani Bholi
7. Phepsi Buthelezi (c)
8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
9. Cameron Wright
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Phikolomzi Sobahle
12. Marnus Potgieter
13. Rohan Janse van Rensburg
14. Werner Kok
15. Thaakir Abrahams

16. Dameon Venter
17. Dian Bleuler
18. Hanro Jacobs
19. Corne Rahl
20. Nick Hatton *debut
21. Celimpilo Gumede
22. Tiaan Fourie
23. Nevaldo Fleurs

Photo by Gerhard Duraan/BackpagePix