Ellis names Banyana’s Afcon squad

You are currently viewing Ellis names Banyana’s Afcon squad
South Africa Senior Womens Team Picture during the Banyana Banyana WAFCON team Announcement 08 November 2016 at SAFA House Pic Sydney Mahlangu/ BackpagePix
  • Post published:November 9, 2016

Banyana Banyana interim coach Desiree Ellis has announced her 21-players that will represent the country at the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations tournament in Cameroon.

The interim coach, who took over from former head coach Vera Pauw, has left several players unchanged from the squad that participated in the 2016 Rio Olympic Games in August.

Astria Boks from Santos is the only newcomer in the team while the likes of Amogelang Motau, Yolula Tsawe, Lebogang Mabatle, Silindile Ngubane and Andisiwe Mgcoyi have been recalled to the national team.

Meanwhile, Roxanne Barker and Jermaine Seoposenwe are both expected to link up with the squad in Cameroon on the 18th due to club commitments.

The African tournament is set to take center stage in Cameroon, with the the national team set to depart to West Africa on November 14.

The Full 21-players Banyana Banyana squad:


Andile Dlamini, Yolula Tsawe, Roxanne Barker


Leandra Smeda, Nothando Vilakazi, Janine van Wyk, Noko Matlou, Astria Boks, Bambanani Mbane, Lebogang Mabatle, Nomathemba Ntsibande


Mamello Makhabane, Amogelang Motau, Refiloe Jane, Nompumelelo Nyandeni, Silindile Ngubane, Linda Motlhalo


Shiwe Nogwanya, Andisiwe Mgcoyi, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Thembi Kgatlana

Image: Sydney Mahlangu/ BackpagePix