Ronwen Williams wins AFCON’s best keeper award

You are currently viewing Ronwen Williams wins AFCON’s best keeper award
  • Post published:February 12, 2024

Bafana Bafana captain Ronwen Williams has been named as the Africa Cup of Nations Goalkeeper of the Tournament following his heroics in Ivory Coast.

The 32-year-old walked away with the award for his heroics in leading South Africa to the bronze medal at the AFCON.

He played a crucial role for Bafana throughout the tournament especially in the quarter-final against Cape Verde in which he saved four penalties as well as saving two penalties against DR Congo in the third-place playoffs.

TotalEnergies CAF AFCON Cote d’Ivoire 2023 Winners List:
Winner: Cote d’Ivoire
Finalist: Nigeria
Third: South Africa
Fourth: Democratic Republic of Congo
TotalEnergies Best Player: William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria)
Puma Golden Boat: Emilio Nsue Lopez
Best Ecobank Goalkeeper: Ronwen Williams (South Africa)
Fair-Play Air Côte d’Ivoire Team: South Africa

Photo by Achille Ndomo Tsanga/BackpagePix