Moon, Mokoena, Khumalo to debut against Botswana

You are currently viewing Moon, Mokoena, Khumalo to debut against Botswana
Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter
  • Post published:July 15, 2017

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has named three new caps in the starting line-up to face Botswana in the first leg of the Chan qualifiers on Saturday.

Mario Booysen, Tercious Malepe Mothobi Mvala and Riyaad Norodien are the only four players who featured in South Africa’s 2-0 victory over the Zebras in the Cosafa Cup  Plate semi-final in Rustenburg last week.

SuperSport United goalkeeper Boalefa Pule will be between the sticks, while Steven Hoffman will start on the bench.

Siyabonga Nhlapo and Malepe will start at right-back and left-back respectively.

Booysen will captain the side in central midfield alongside Mvala, who has recovered from his knee injury.

Meanwhile, Ryan Moon, Teboho Mokoena and Sibusiso Khumalo will make three debuts and earn their first national team caps for South Africa.

Norodien and Cole Alexander keep their place in midfield, while Gift Motupa is expected to make his second appearance for Bafana Bafana.

South Africa and Botswana clash on Saturday, 15 July 2017, at the Francistown Stadium in Botswana.

Kick-off has been set for 15:30.

Bafana Bafana XI vs Botswana:

Boalefa Pule, Siyabonga Nhlapo, Tercious Malepe, Mario Booysen, Mothobi Mvala, Riyaad Norodien, Teboho Mokoena, Sibusiso Khumalo, Cole Alexander, Ryan Moon, Gift Motupa.


Steven Hoffman, Sipho Mbule, Sphelele Ntshangase, Jamie Webber, Sandile Mthethwa, Malebogo Modise, Bonginkosi Ntuli


Mwapule Masule, Thabo Leinanyane, Kaelo Kgaswane, Simisane Mathumo, Sylvester Leririma, Mosha Gaolaolwe, Kabelo Seakanyeng, Richard Legailwa, Hendrick Moyo, Tumisang Orebonye, Thero Setsile


Anthony Gouws, Lemponye Tshireletso, Thabang Sesinyi, Tapiwa Gadibolae, Thatayaone Kgamanyane, Koagile Senwelo, Lemogang Maswena