Baxter names Bafana squad for Zambia test

You are currently viewing Baxter names Bafana squad for Zambia test
The South African National Team
  • Post published:July 31, 2017

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter announced his 25-man squad to face Zambia in their Chan qualifiers on 12 August 2017.

The venue for the first-leg clash is yet to be announced, however kick-off has been set for 15:00.

The return leg will be played in Zambia on the weekend of 18, 19, 20 August, with the overall winner qualifying for the tournament, which is set to take place from 11 January to 2 February 2018.

The 63-year-old has only made five chances to the side that defeated Botswana, but has kept the bulk of the squad.

Kaizer Chiefs shot-stopper Bruce Bvuma comes in to replace Khulekani Kubheka (Mamelodi Sundowns), having last played during South Africa’s exploits in the Cosafa Cup.

SuperSport United Denwin Farmer and Ayabulela Konqobe (AmaZulu) replaces Malebogo Modise and Junaid Sait in defence.

Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United) makes a return to the squad after the SuperSport midfielder withdrew from the squad for their second leg tie against the Zebras.

Meanwhile, Masilakhe Phohlongo (Ajax Cape Town) and Tshegofatso Mabaso (Bloemfontein Celtic) are expected to make their debut in the middle of the park for the national team.

Gift Motupa (Baroka), Ryan Moon (Kaizer Chiefs) and Bonginkosi Ntuli (Mamelodi Sundowns) have all been recalled to lead Bafana Bafana in attack.

Bafana Bafana squad to face Zambia:


Boalefa Pule, Steven Hoffman and Bruce Bvuma


Siyabonga Nhlapo, Siphiwe Mnguni, Sandile Mthethwa, Mothobi Mvala, Mario Booysen, Tercious Malepe, Denwin Farmer and Ayabulela Konqobe.


Cole Alexander, Michael Morton, Riyaad Norodien, Jamie Webber, Sphelele Ntshangase, Dumisani Zuma,  Teboho Mokoena, Sipho Mbule, Sibusiso Khumalo, Masilakhe Phohlongo and Tshegofatso Mabaso.


Bongani Ntuli, Ryan Moon and Gift Motupa.

Photo: Safa website