Should Orlando Pirates forward Thembinkosi Lorch have been given a red card for stamping on Kaizer Chiefs star Khama Billiat?
The major talking point of the game originated in the 30th minute when Lorch allegedly walked over Billiat’s ankle after fouling the Amakhosi man, which lead to retaliation from the Chiefs players.
Many would argue that the reigning Player of the Season should have received his marching orders for the foul, but the match referee cautioned Lorch by handing him a yellow card.
However, Pirates were eventually reduced to 10 men when Mthokozisi Dube saw his second yellow in the second half. But if Lorch received his marching orders in the first half, would it have reflected the outcome of the game?
Amakhosi advanced to the semi-final of the competition after beating Pirates 4-2 on penalties after the game ended 2-2 in extra time at the Moses Mabhida Stadium on Saturday.
WATCH: The incident between Lorch and Billiat
You may also like