The South African Football Association has officially stated that Samir Nurkovic’s opener for Kaizer Chiefs against Mamelodi Sundowns was not offside.
Chiefs went on to win the encounter 2-0 and post-game Pitso Mosimane was adamant that Leonardo Castro had touched Reeve Fosler’s cross, which then fell to Nurkovic who had a simple tap-in while the Serbian was in an offsides position.
The Premier Soccer League has since written to the coach regarding his comments, with a meeting with the DC possibly coming his way.
However, Safa released a statement from its review committee stating that the correct decision was made.
‘During the match, when Kaizer Chiefs’ Reeve Frosler played the ball into the opponents’ penalty area, both Chiefs’ Leonardo Castro and Samir Nurkovic were not in an offside position. Sundowns’ Musa Lebusa and Chiefs’ Castro jumped to head the ball but both missed it.
‘Castro neither played nor touched the ball from his teammate Frosler, and this is evidenced by the fact that the ball never changed direction nor the trajectory.
‘Nurkovic who was not in an offside position when the ball was initially played by his teammate Frosler and that Castro did not make contact with the ball, the Assistant Referee was correct in not flagging for offside, based on fact connected with Law 11 (Offside).
‘It then stands to reason that Nurkovic scored a legitimate goal. It would have been a different decision had his teammate Castro played or touched the ball, then the goal would have been disallowed in that instance,’ read the full statement.
You may also like