Nedbank Cup last 32 kicks off with Sundowns vs Mariveni - SportsClub

  • Nedbank Cup last 32 kicks off with Sundowns vs Mariveni

    Sundowns defending the Nedbank Cup
    Sibusiso Vilakazi celebrates his goal with Anthony Laffor and Thapelo Morena of Mamelodi Sundowns during the Absa Premiership match between Mamelodi Sundowns and Highlands Park at the Loftus Stadium in Pretoria on the 27 November 2016©Samuel Shivambu/Backpagepix

    In just over two weeks the 10th Nedbank Cup will get under way as Caf Champions League holders Mamelodi Sundowns host ABC Motsepe side, Mariveni United.

    The Nedbank Cup will kick off on Monday 6 March 2017. The opening match of the Nedbank Cup will once again resemble David vs Goliath when in-form Mamelodi Sundowns host the ABC Motsepe side Mariveni United, a Limpopo side that will be making its debut appearance in this prestigious competition.

    The match will be played at the Lucas Moripe Stadium (kick-off at 19:30).

    Besides the 16 Premier Division sides and the eight NFD clubs, there are five clubs from the SAFA structures that will participate in the Nedbank Cup for the first time. They are KwaDukuza United (KwaZulu Natal, ABC Motsepe League), Acornbush United (Mpumalanga, ABC Motsepe League), Buya Msuthu (North West, ABC Motsepe League) and Days FC (Free State, SAB League).

    On Wednesday 8 March, African All Stars, who are making their second consecutive appearance in the last round of 32, will travel to play Polokwane City at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium.

    Three days later, there will be a total of six fixtures, while Sunday will see four fixtures with the KwaZulu-Natal derby between Golden Arrows and Maritzburg United among the key fixtures to look forward to.

    Defending Nedbank Cup champions SuperSport United will be in action on the last day of the round of 32, Wednesday 15 March when they travel to the Harry Gwala Stadium to face unpredictable National First Division club, Royal Eagles.

    Nedbank Cup Last 32 fixtures:

    6 March 
    Mamelodi Sundowns vs Mariveni United – Lucas Moripe Stadium (19:30)

    8 March
    Polokwane City vs African All Stars – Old Peter Mokaba Stadium (19:30)

    11 March 
    Kwadukuza United vs Ajax Cape Town – Harry Gwala Stadium (15:00)
    Buya Msuthu FC vs Bloemfontein Celtic – Moruleng Stadium (15:00)
    Jomo Cosmos vs United Rovers – Tsakane Stadium (15:00)
    FC Cape Town vs Baroka FC – NNK Rugby Stadium (15:00)
    Stellenbosch FC vs Kaizer Chiefs – Athlone Stadium (20:15)
    Free State Stars vs Highlands Park – Goble Park (20:15)

    12 March 
    Lamontville Golden Arrows vs Maritzburg United – Princess Magogo Stadium (15:00)
    Acornbush United vs Cape Town City – Kabokweni Stadium (15:00)
    EC Bees vs Orlando Pirates – Sisa Dukashe Stadium (15:00)
    Days FC vs Mbombela United – Griffons Rugby Stadium (15:00)

    15 March 
    Royal Eagles vs SuperSport United – Harry Gwala Stadium (19:30)
    Chippa United vs Witbank Spurs – Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (19:30)
    Platinum Stars vs AmaZulu – Moruleng Stadium (19:30)
    Cape Town All Stars vs Bidvest Wits – Athlone Stadium (19:30)

    Article written by