Kuhn to lead SA A - SportsClub

  • Kuhn to lead SA A

    Kuhn to lead SA A
    Heino Kuhn

    Some notable changes have been made to the South Africa A squad for the up and coming quadrangular series.

    The original squad named Wayne Parnell as captain but he has since been replaced by Titans wicketkeeper batsman, Heino Kuhn, who played a significant role in the side’s victory against Zimbabwe in July, scoring 108 off 154 balls. Parnell was replaced due to his call up to the Proteas test squad facing New Zealand later this month.

    The newly appointed skipper’s fellow Titans teammate, Marchant de Lange, was left out of the squad along with Lions leg-breaker Eddie Leie.

    Parnell, De Lange and Leie were replaced by St Kitts and Nevis Patriots bowler Tabraiz Shamsi and Cape Cobras bowlers Dane Paterson and Beuran Hendricks, who is looking to work his way back to the highest honours. Back in 2014, Hendricks played a handful of T20 internationals for the Proteas, but his chances were halted by an injury (stress fracture of the back) he picked up in Septemeber 2014. Shamsi is the most experienced of the three new additions, taking three wickets in his two ODI appearances in the Tri-Nation series back in June.

    Vincent Barnes will also be taking over as coach of the side, replacing Warriors coach Malibongwe Maketa.

    SA A will play the National Performance Squad in Townsville on Saturday before they face India A and Australia A in the Quad Series which ends on 31 August.

    SA A updated squad:  Heino Kuhn (capt), Qaasim Adams, Reeza Hendricks, Khaya Zondo, David Miller, Theunis de Bruyn, Dane Vilas, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Aaron Phangiso, Sisanda Magala, Beuran Hendricks, Malusi Siboto, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dane Paterson.

    Photo by Carl Fourie/Gallo Images

    Article written by